Tada!: Date me hat.

Pattern: Amelia Earhart Aviator Cap by Flor. (Ravelry)
Finished size: A bit snug for my 22″ head, but still wear-able.
Yarn: Knit One Crochet Too Paintbox, one and a half-ish skeins.
Needles: US 8 straights.
Date Started: January 2008
Date Completed: February 2008

I love this pattern. Really, you have no idea what you’re doing until about five rows to the end. The entire thing (almost) feels like a mistake. But In the end, it is so beautiful. It covers the ears, but not in an immature flappy way.

The comments on the yarn on Ravelry say that it’s too scratchy for wearables, and I heartily disagree. Of course, my skin has no sensation when it comes to things like this, but I found it very comfortable. And the colors! The gradiation! Each row is a little bit different than the next, making this beautiful subtle striping that even Noro can’t achieve. It is a bit rough on the fingers, but we knitters should learn to suck it up.

Mods I made:

  • None! The pattern is too complicated to make modifications on your first try.

Mods I should have made:

  • I would like to see the back a little longer, but I don’t know how I would accomplish this. It’s not enough of a want to do the math for it.
1 Comment

Filed under Knitting

One response to “Tada!: Date me hat.

  1. i love this hat!! i’ve been combing the web trying to come up with some crochet-look alike since i don’t know how to knit. yours is by far the most beautiful i’ve seen. i’m just going to have to learn how to knit. thanks for sharing the pics!

Leave a Reply

