123 twice and five.

This meme has been all over the place, and I’ve only been tagged in passive-aggressive ways, but I like it and will therefore join in.

Rules: Find the book nearest to you with 123 pages or more. Turn to page 123 and find the fifth sentence on the page. Provide the title and author, and then type in that sentence.

It was a tie between two books for me:

  • The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan: “What thing so deserving, as to turn us out of the Way?”
  • German Stories and Tales by Robert Pick: “These peaks are difficult to ascend, moated as they are by snow, now wide, now narrow, and the Bergschrund or rim must be compassed by a leap.”

So no great words of wisdom for you today, dear readers.

I’m tagging Jenn, Saartje, Mimsie, She’s in Fashion (I don’t know her real-world name …), and Tonya.

2 Comments

Filed under literature, Meme

2 responses to “123 twice and five.

  1. We were all bound to fall for this sooner or later. And it was indeed inspirational – I am a changed person.

  2. Lesa Dean

    The first book is the 2008 IKEA catalog – for real – by IKEA? The “sentence”…
    “Requires assembly.”
    The next book, my journal, by me? The sentence….
    “So I’m glad she’s there where someone can monitor both her and the baby!”
    (This was written about my daughter-in-law, Cami when she was in the hospital Dec. 7th, 2004, with early labor with Carter, my youngest grandson! All worked out fine and Carter was born a month later!)

    Any wisdom to derive from this? Kids…require…work?!? (Or they require nine months for full “assembly”?)

    Sorry. that’s what I get for grabbing what was closest at hand…

Leave a Reply

