Finally, some out-of-state yarning.

When I went to Colorado, it was too hot and I was too pregnant to walk to the nearest yarn store.

When I went to Cedar City, there was no good yarn at the local thrift shops.

Finally, on a recent trip to Yellowstone, I got to buy some fiber and fiber-related things. Let’s start off with the thrift stores in Idaho Springs:

There I got  two huge cakes of fingering-weight wool, in creme and a sort of 70’s green-yellow. A light pea soup. But the real find here was this wee little swift for $5. I’m fairly positive that it is a swift. It has all of the necessary parts and pieces. But it’s so kid-size! And also, it comes with four extending arms, and they all move independently. This should be just fine, but I can’t figure out how to make the arms stay in place – they will automatically fold themselves back towards the spine of the swift if I try to wind any yarn around them. I’m thinking of recruiting a tool-yeilding man to create some sort of blocking device for each of the arms, to be inserted in the diamond-shaped holes they create when you stretch them out. If that makes sense. Or, if you have any better ideas, please tell me.

Who am I kidding? This swift is so small, I’ll probably never use it. But it’s just so interesting, I had to have it.

Plymouth Trabajos Del Peru

Lamb's Pride Worsted

Then, when driving through West Yellowstone, Montana, I saw a sign that said “Yarn.” I wasn’t expecting that at all. Turns out there’s a lovely gift shop with a bunch of yarn in the back, owned by someone who really loves fiber. She had some local buffalo and alpaca yarn, as well as some really nice brand-name standards. Small selection, but very vey well thought out. Anyway, I don’t remember the name of the store, but here it is on Google Maps:

west yellowstone yarn

As you can see, if you turn off of Canyon onto Madison, you’ll be there. It’s right next to a supermarket. I highly reccomend that you go here if you find yourself in West Yellowstone.

Anyway, here are the stats on the yarn I got there (unfortunately nothing local or terribly interesting): 1 skein of Plymouth Yarn’s Trabajos Del Peru 100% extra fine merino wool in color 008, and two skeins of Lamb’s Pride Worsted, one in color M-191 Kiwi and one in M-151 Chocolate Souffle. They’re all lovely, soft, and infinitely use-able.

ETA: Sorry if you’re having trouble viewing the photos. They work, I promise. And if they don’t, they’re not that great anyway.

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting

One response to “Finally, some out-of-state yarning.

  1. Hi, one of our local chamber of commerce people found this mention of my store while googling West Yellowstone. Thank you so much for your kind words, I’ve had the yarn for only about a year, and it is, indeed, a labor of love.
    The name of my store is Send It Home. This is because we started out as a packing and shipping place exclusively.
    Thanks again!
    Pati

Leave a Reply

